Sony Music Publishing Wins Publisher of the Year at ASCAP’s 2022 Rhythm & Soul Music Awards

With eighteen top-performing songs across R&B, Hip-Hop and Gospel, the achievement marks the first time SMP has won ASCAP’s Rhythm and Soul Publisher of the Year honor since 2017. Additionally, Johnta Austin won the coveted Top Gospel Song award for “Speak to Me,” written by Austin and performed by Koryn Hawthorne.

Upon accepting the award, Sony Music Publishing Executive Vice President, Head of A&R Walter Jones said, “ASCAP, thank you for the acknowledgement of Publisher of the Year. None of this is possible without our songwriters – they are the cornerstone of the music business and we appreciate the effort they put in day in and day out to write today’s biggest hits.”

Sony Music Publishing songwriters and composers were awarded for their contributions to chart-topping hits including “RAPSTAR” by Polo G; Lil Tjay’s “Calling My Phone,” co-produced by Non Native; Adele’s “Easy On Me,” co-written and produced by Greg Kurstin, Giveon’s “Heartbreak Anniversary,” produced by Sevn Thomas, Ella Mai’s “Not Another Love Song,” produced by Boi-1da, and many others.

SMP honorees include Boi-1da, Bunny DeBarge, DJ Mustard, Felisha King, Greg Kurstin, Johnta Austin, Jozzy, Leon Thomas, Lil Durk, Mark “Marty” DeBarge, Non Native, Polo G, Pooh Shiesty, Sean Leon, Sevn Thomas, and Troy Oliver.