2024 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards Winners Include Lil Baby, Usher, SZA & More.

ASCAP, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, the only US performing rights organization to operate on a not-for-profit basis, announces the winners of the 2024 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards.

Lil Baby, who wrapped up his “It’s Only Us” nationwide tour last year, is this year’s ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Songwriter of the Year. The diamond-certified rapper scored big this year with wins for “Forever,” “Freestyle” and “Heyy,” from his third studio album It’s Only Me. Lil Baby accepted his award tonight at an invitation-only event in Los Angeles celebrating this year’s ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Award winners.


(Photo credit: Lester Cohen/Getty Images for ASCAP)

Multi-platinum, Grammy-winning global icon USHER is honored with the prestigious ASCAP Voice of the Culture Award for his influence on music and culture, in addition to his songwriting wins for his songs “Glu” and “Good Good.” USHER accepted the award from legendary producer Jermaine Dupri. 2024 Best New Artist Grammy Award winner Victoria Monét was also on hand to receive the ASCAP Vanguard Award for her innovative work that is helping to shape the future of music, in addition to her most-performed song award for “On My Mama.” ASCAP Chairman of the Board and President Paul Williams and ASCAP SVP of Membership Nicole George-Middleton presented the artist with the esteemed award, in front of a crowd of songwriter peers and music publishers.


(Photo credit: Lester Cohen/Getty Images for ASCAP)


“Snooze,” performed by SZA, earns the ASCAP R&B/Hip-Hop and Rap Song of the Year. Co-written by Leon Thomas and published by Eclectic Collective Publishing and Sony Music Publishing, the song topped the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay chart, earning a historic milestone after an unprecedented 30 weeks at #1. This feat was the most any song has accomplished in the list’s 31-year history, and it was the only song to spend the entirety of 2023 on the Billboard Hot 100.

ASCAP Gospel Song of the Year goes to “Goodness of God” (Cece Winans), co-written by Brian Mark Johnson and Jennifer Louise Johnson and published by Bethel Music Publishing.

Warner Chappell Music earns ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Publisher of the Year Award for songs including “Calm Down” (Rema & Selena Gomez), “Fukumean” (Gunna), “Good Good” (USHER), “Hotel Lobby” (Quavo & Takeoff), “Rich Baby Daddy” (Drake), “Spin About U” and “Rich Flex” (21 Savage & Drake), “What It Is” (Doechii) and “Praise God” (Kanye West, Travis Scott & Baby Keem).

Additional 2024 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Award-winning songwriters include 21 Savage (“Good Good,” “Spin Bout U,” “Peaches & Eggplants,” “Rich Flex”), Lil Uzi Vert (“Just Wanna Rock”), Summer Walker (“Good Good,” “Karma”), Coco Jones (“ICU”), Smokie Norful (“I Still Have You”), Tye Tribbett (“New”) and more.

The ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards recognize the songwriters and publishers of the most-performed songs of the past year based on Luminate data for terrestrial and satellite radio and streaming services, as specified by the ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards rules.