Big Tigger, Funkmaster Flex And More Nominated for 2024 Radio Hall of Fame.

The Museum of Broadcast Communications has announced the selection of the Radio Hall of Fame 2024 nominees. The 24 nominees were chosen by the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, with input from the radio industry and listeners.

Among those nominees are Big Tigger and Funkmaster Flex. Both whom have contributed to the world of broadcast enormously.


Big Tigger has earned his place as one of the most distinctive broadcast personalities. Beginning as an intern at WPGC radio in Washington, DC, Tigger’s dedication, business savvy, and love for music are just a few reasons for his rise to success. and recognition as is one of the most sought after media talents.

Currently the host of a show that bares his name, The Big Tigger show on V-103 (WVEE-FM) in Atlanta, Tigger connects with millions of loyal fans Monday through Friday from 2pm-6pm. Tigger is one of the most popular media talents, and his audience knows what to expect.

While many people may know Tigger as the face of the longest running, nationally televised hip-hop show on BET; Rap City: Tha Basement and hit show 106&Park, it’s his stellar reputation and hard work has led to numerous opportunities, accompanying successes across media platforms and an ever-growing fan base.

Follow with music and you will find Tigger in the mix. Adept at creating opportunities, Tigger is constantly expanding his brand. In 2003, he created and launched Live in the Den with Big Tigger., a three-hour, syndicated show that aired for more than 10 years in 67 markets and 3 countries. He saw similar success with Direct Access with Big Tigger a TV show which earned him an Emmy Award in 2013.

A natural in front of the camera and a BET fan favorite, Tigger is the go-to host for Network specials. He has hosted BET Awards Post Party Live from 2009-2012 and 2014, Co-Hosted BET Awards Red Carpet Show in 2012, and was the voice and co-host of the 2011 and 2014 Soul Train Awards. Tigger has also been featured in commercials and on television shows including: a national Reebok commercial and a guest star appearance on The Dave Chappelle Show. Recently, Tigger has taken on silver screen with a role in his first film for UPTv Where’s The Love in which he plays “Rod” & a role in VH1’s Drumline: A New Beat where he plays himself.

When he isn’t on the radio, on TV or on a film set, Tigger is in demand by professional sports teams, celebrities and leading consumer brands like Macy’s, Cîroc, Coca-Cola, and Nike to bring the music to live events.

In addition to being the Resident DJ for NBA’s Atlanta Hawks and in game host for the WNBA’s Atlanta Dream, Tigger can be seen DJing at Shaq’s All Star Comedy Jam Tour, Allstar weekend events for Michael Jordan, as well as countless sports and charity events.

Charity is central to who Tigger is. In response to the ravaging effects HIV/AIDS and illiteracy is having on underserved communities, Tigger created The Big Tigger Foundation (BTF). BTF is a non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening diverse urban communities through proactive, innovative programming. Based in the belief that knowledge is the key to improving issues affecting the community, BTF’s focus is two-fold; to increase public awareness of HIV/AIDS by funding educational initiatives targeting prevention, and to improve quality of life for youth and by supporting programs that focus on literacy and self-esteem.


From spinning records to starring in video games, Funkmaster Flex has become an undeniable force in hip-hop. Tt’a no brainer why this DJ, rapper, record producer, and host is nominated.

Born Aston George Taylor Jr. on August 5, 1968, in the Bronx, New York City, Flex’s roots trace back to Jamaican immigrant parents. Growing up in a religious household, he got his first taste of DJing at local nightclubs at 16. With a DJ father, music was in his blood.

Flex’s radio journey began alongside Chuck Chillout at WRKS 98.7 Kiss-FM. In 1992, he joined Hot 97, transforming it into New York’s first pop station prominently featuring rap. His signature “bomb drop” sound effect and unforgettable mixes continue to influence Hot 97, with his shows syndicated nationally.

Flex has made his mark on TV, hosting MTV’s ‘Funk Flex Full Throttle’ and appearing on VH1’s ‘This Is Hot 97.’

An aficionado of custom cars, Flex promotes his annual “Funkmaster Flex Custom Car & Bike Show Tour,” featuring top-tier artists and a mix of car competitions, talent searches, sneaker battles, and DJ face-offs.

Flex has lent his voice to video games like ‘Quest for the Code’ and ‘Grand Theft Auto.’ He’s also featured in ‘Def Jam Vendetta’ and ‘NBA 2K18.’

Voting for inductees begins Monday, May 20, 2024, and runs through Monday, June 3, 2024. The top six vote recipients will gain induction as part of the 2024 Radio Hall of Fame Induction class. The two additional inductees that will make up the eight-person induction class will be selected by the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee.

More than 900 industry members will receive a ballot on Monday, May 20th, to cast votes for up to six nominated individuals. The confidential ballot will be conducted by, and overseen by Miller Kaplan‘s Andrew Rosen.

The total of eight Radio Hall of Fame inductees for 2024 will be announced on Monday, June 17th, and will be honored at the 2024 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, September 19th at the Omni Nashville Hotel in Nashville, TN.

Dennis Green, Co-Chairman of the Radio Hall of Fame, stated: “It is an honor to nominate this amazing class of talented individuals and shows that have made their mark on the radio.”

Kraig T. Kitchin, Co-Chairman, Radio Hall of Fame, commented: “Congratulations to our 2024 nominees for induction! I encourage each industry member receiving a confidential ballot to participate in the selection of this years’ inductees. It’s an honor and a privilege to see well-established on-air careers recognized with an induction; every vote makes a difference in the outcome.”

The Radio Hall of Fame inductees for 2024 will be announced on Monday, June 17th and will be honored at the 2024 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, September 19th at the Omni Nashville Hotel in Nashville, TN.


Bert Weiss
Big D & Bubba
Big Tigger
Bob and Sheri
Bob Stroud
Crook & Chase
Dede McGuire
Diane Rehm
Free Beer and Hot Wings
Funkmaster Flex
Jaime Jarrin
John & Ken
Johnny Magic
Kid Leo
Larry Elder
Laurie DeYoung
Lee Harris
Lincoln Ware
Mary McCoy
Matt Siegel
Mojo in the Morning
Phil Hendrie
Richard Blade
Shelley “The Playboy” Stewart

The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over operations of the Hall in 1991.